Bramshaw Golf Club

Double Delight for Bramshaw in the Bramshaw Men's Open

Friday 17th July - Bramshaw Golf Club

Despite the cloud of Covid-19, the Bramshaw Men's Open 2020 went ahead with a bumper field of 77 golfers (plus 11 in a standalone "Reserve Competition" for those unlucky not to make the main draw) on a stunning day in the New Forest.

Sun-cream was the order of the day and leading the morning gross scores with a fine 67 (-4) was Bramshaw's own young superstar Joseph Buenfeld. A four shot lead for Joe over Andrew Robson (Parkstone), home GM - Andy Rideout, and Mike White (West Wilts) all on level par (71). Leading the nett competition was Bramshaw ex-Captain and last year's nett winner Mark Bolton with a fine 67.

In the afternoon the course got tougher but the scores got better. A 66 from David Cook (Parkstone), a 67 from Dan Murphy (Bramshaw), Richard Cheetham (Ferndown - 69), and three 70's (-1); two of these from Bramshaw "old boys" Ryan Moody and Harrison Pake were the pick of the scoring. Perhaps the most unfortunate, however, was David Norton (Parkstone) also with a 70 but which included a double bogey 6 on the 17th. However, it was Joe Buenfeld that came out on top despite a +4 front nine; a birdie on the 10th and 8 pars was enough to battle to a one shot victory over Pake and Norton. It was only 7 months ago that Joe was crowned European Junior Open Champion, and although not on the European stage, this is a fine victory and another feather in the cap for the young Bramshaw man.

In the nett competition, the brilliant 67 gross of Dan Murphy (nett 63!) secured a one shot victory at -7 from Andrew Redman (Bramshaw) who was the model of consistency with two nett 68's. So a day of double delight for Bramshaw winning both gross and nett competitions on the day!

Congratulations to all that took park; a huge thank you to everyone who supported the event including Course Marshals and helpers. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2021!

The full competition results can be viewed HERE


Right: Men's Open Champion 2012 - Joe Buenfeld (67 & 74) = -1

Left: Nett Winner - Dan Murphy (72 & 63) = -7

#playsafe #staysafe

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.